My Story, Part 1: The Beginning

The idea to start a blog stemmed from a comment I made in a Facebook group:

My conversion story is so long and complicated, I could write a book.

I figured it would be therapeutic for myself to write things down. Figure them out, because honestly when I think about all the things I’ve experienced, witnessed, and learned during the last 21 years of my life, it’s hard to keep things straight. I hope my story can help someone else, I hope it will give others hope. I hope it will bring others to Christ. That is my prayer. That my story will ultimately bring glory to God.

I’ll kick off this blog with a series of posts explaining who I am, where I came from, and how I came to Christ. I wish I could keep this blog anonymous, but I’ll have to figure that one out later. I also want to add that I’m not sure where this blog will go. It might end up being an advise blog or it might be a compilation of stories from others. Either way, thank you so much for listening to me and for joining me on this journey ๐Ÿ™‚

So let’s take it back to the beginning…

I’m not entirely sure when it happened or why but somehow my great-grandmother and her husband got in to a religion called Christian Science (I’ll probably do a future post on that). My grandmother and her brothers were all raised in it. In fact my grandma was so into it that she became a CS nurse. She moved to Massachusetts very young to learn her trade at the Benevolence Association, a Christian Science nursing home in Chestnut Hill. This part of the story is achy because I’ve only been told bits and pieces. Anyways, eventually my grandmother wound up meeting my grandfather at a CS nursing home. She was a nurse and he worked in a different department (not sure what). My grandparents did quite a lot of church hopping. My dad has told me that they got married in a Mormon church, but that he also remembers visiting a Baptist and Presbyterian church when he was young. They always returned to Christian Science though.

My father also decided to take the same path, and so during the 1980s he became a CS nurse as well. He eventually found his way out to New Jersey (He grew up in the Southwestern US), where he began work at Tenacre nursing home. There he met my mom who was also a nurse. They got married in 1988 and moved out to Ohio in 1990. My mom had some trouble conceiving, but in 1995, after much prayer I finally arrived, then in 1998 by brother was born.

Continue to Part 2 to hear the next part ย of my story ๐Ÿ™‚

Soli Deo Gloria

Part 5

Part 4

Part 3

Part 2

One thought on “My Story, Part 1: The Beginning

Leave a Reply

